You Know You’re From Washington When…(Waterfall Beef)

 

From HKWF Photostream

Let’s face it. I am a displaced Washingtonian. My last three roommates have conclusively proven that I will never own the necessary wardrobe to fit in at New York City clubs, the discussion at clinic yesterday revolved around the New York school system (which is incomprehensible to me), and I miss my horse. These are some die-hard traits that I just can’t seem to shake.

I do not use an umbrella when it rains. I didn’t even own one until I moved to New York, and then I was given two. They sit by my front door and my roommates use them. The umbrellas sold here are also designed to blow inside out after 7.23 minutes of use, necessitating buying another umbrella from a street vendor. It’s a racket.

I speak coffee. I don’t mean “coffee with two sugars,” I mean “triple venti skinny one pump sugar-free vanilla latte extra hot no foam with room.” I don’t even drink coffee.

Weather is a part of my language. Rain followed by showers is different than showers followed by rain, sunbreak is a legitimate term, and “the mountain is out” explains exactly how cloudy it is.

Swimming in the ocean? Joke.

Everyone has an earthquake story or two. Mine involve thinking the end of the world was upon us. Literally.

Distance is measured in hours. “How far is it to Spokane? 3.5 hours.” My mother just drove my sister from WA to VA for school, and I think this is the fifth time she’s driven across the country (45 hours) in the last few years. We also regularly drove from San Diego to Seattle, straight (21 hours).

Mountains. Mountains are not real unless they have erupted in the last 200 years, are covered in snow, or can only be climbed using equipment. In the same vein, mountain bikes are for riding on mountains, not on streets, and I have a favorite mountain range (the Cascades).

I feel pathologically guilty if I don’t recycle. And don’t even get me started on composting.

Camping is a water sport. Don’t forget your poncho, your waterproof matches and, if you’re really prepared, quarters for the local laundromat so you can dry your socks.

A real windstorm blows away the lawn chairs, and possibly the trampoline. This means winds of 50-70 miles an hour, bouncing off a mountain and slamming down your small valley. Occasionally, I wonder if the chickens will blow away, too.

Mountains, rivers, and lakes are used as points of reference in directions. “Okay, then you’re going to follow the road until it curves around and is headed straight towards the mountain…”

Blackberries are a weed. They grow everywhere and are close to impossible to eradicate. A friend recently got upset that I fed my horse blackberries (which she LOVES. Bizarre horse) because where he’s from, blackberries come in those little, tiny plastic boxes and are expensive.

I know the difference between Chinook, Coho, Chum, Sockeye and Pink salmon. I am opinionated and outspoken and the pale, limp stuff they sell here in New York, aka lox, is terrible.

There is a difference between Northern and Southern Vietnamese, Japanese, Korean, Thai, Burmese and Cambodian dishes. Seattle is the best place in the US for cutting edge, Asian fusion and Asian inspired dishes for a reason. Our favorite Thai place makes this salad, which they call Crying Tiger, and which the restaurant at school called Waterfall Beef, and which is also known as Dripping Beef.

From HKWF Photostream

This salad is a favorite of both my sister and I. We love the contrasting flavors between the beef and the spicy and sour marinade against the buttery lettuce. Everytime we go out, we order it and now that I’ve discovered it’s so easy to make at home, it’s sure to become a staple.

There are many recipes out there. This is a conglomeration of what I saw and how I wanted it to taste, and I think it was perfect.

Feed Others: This is a meal in and of itself, but you could throw in a thai salad if you wanted, a pot of sticky rice, and maybe wrap up with a tropical fruit salad.

Waterfall Beef
Serves 6-8. Allow 30 minutes.

For the Beef:
1 lb top sirlion beef
1 cup beef broth
1/2 cup fresh lime juice
1 tablespoon Thai fish sauce
1 teaspoon granulated sugar
1 thinly sliced shallot
1/2 cup mint leaves

For the Salad:
1 head butter lettuce
1 small bunch green onions

On a grill, cook the sirlion until it’s just on the raw side of rare. Remove from heat and slice thinly.

Meanwhile, combine all other ingredients for the beef except the mint in a large, shallow saucepan and bring to a simmer. When the meat is sliced, add it to the simmering broth mixture and allow to simmer just until meat is cooked through. Add the mint.

Meanwhile, tear up the butter lettuce and toss with the green onions. Arrange on a platter. Pour the cooked meat and some of its simmering broth onto the salad and pass the remainder of the broth in a jug at the table.

Posted from: New York

This entry was posted in Dinner on the Deck, Gluten Free, Main Plates, Quick and Easy, Salad, Uncategorized, Washington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

