Happiness is…(Cabbage and Sausage)

Cabbage and Sausage

When I was in high school, my theatre troupe (which was a group of homeschool kids, directed by a fabulous lady with loads of theatre experience, which actually rehearsed in garages, giving us our name of the Garage Theatre Troupe) put on the musical You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown. There’s one song, right towards the end of the second act called “Happiness” and it was one of my favorite moments of the whole show.

Happiness is finding a pencil.
Pizza with sausage.
Telling the time.
Happiness is learning to whistle.
Tying your shoe for the very first time.
Happiness is playing the drum in your own school band.
And happiness is walking hand in hand.  

Happiness is two kinds of ice cream.
Knowing a secret.
Climbing a tree.
Happiness is five different crayons.
Catching a firefly.
Setting him free.
Happiness is being alone every now and then.
And happiness is coming home again.  

Happiness is having a sister.
Sharing a sandwich.
Getting along.
Happiness is singing together when day is through,
And happiness is those who sing with you.  

Happiness is morning and evening,
Daytime and night time too.
For happiness is anyone and anything at all
Thatโ€™s loved by you. 

Today, I’m being happy. You should, too. What’s happiness for you?

Happiness is:
 – Skyping with my Welsh twin. We met in Samoa last year, and none of the Samoans could tell we two palagis apart. We’ve kept in touch since and are currently scheming over how to meet up.
– Making bread in my brand new Dutch Oven, a merry Christmas from Brother. Also, this Dutch Oven could double as gym weights.
– Curling under the blankets. I’ve got fantastically soft sheets (although not as nice as my fleece ones at home) and a huge, poofy, white down comforter. I built blanket forts with my pillows and watch people pass by on the street below.
– Editing photos from Christmas and remembering this wonderful horse ride.

These are Indy's ears.

– Wiping chocolate off my chin while eating strawberry crepes with Brother this morning after we finally figured out which Starbucks we were meeting up at.
– Staring at a half-knit scarf on the floor and imagining someone’s smile when they unwrap it in a few weeks.
– Dragging myself the 10 minute walk to church only to be incredibly blessed by the music and the lesson. Take that, laziness. Get thee behind me.
– Reading this post by blogger Rachel Held Evans and then seeing it quoted in this article by CNN. I feel like a paparazzi or something for having spotted the quotation.
– Day dreaming about a trip to Spain.
– Eating cabbage and sausage and then realizing that this amazing meal, which has fed me for 3 days, cost $10 and had 4 ingredients.

Cabbage and Sausage
I know, I know, sauteed cabbage is not cool. It does not photograph well, it doesn’t have nice connotations and no one has beautiful, descriptive, hunger-inducing words with which to praise it. In fact, when I think of cabbage, I think first of Oliver Twist and second of KFC’s pathetic excuse for coleslaw. Ignore those impulses. This dish is warm, filling, savory on top, sweet in just the right places, interesting and delicious. It was my favorite thing to eat this week, and that includes a menu filled with chocolate ice cream, strawberry crepes, fresh baked bread, my favorite sandwich in the world, goldfish crackers and pickles. That’s saying a lot. 
The beauty of this recipe is in its simplicity. I don’t care what you do with it. Add potatos, substitute tofu, drizzle on some truffle oil (but, why?). Really, though, just saute the cabbage and onion and sausage and eat it and go to bed happy. 
Cabbage and Sausage
Serves 4. Allow 30 minutes. 
4 chicken-apple sausages
1/2 head cabbage
2 onions
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
Chop the sausage into chunks and fry over medium heat until cooked through and brown on the edges. While the sausage is frying, slice the cabbage and onion into bite-sized strips. Remove the sausage to a plate when cooked, and add the oil and onions to the pan. Saute the onions until soft and just beginning to caramelize, then add the cabbage. Cover the pan, and allow to cook until the cabbage has thoroughly wilted. Stir sausage back in and allow entire dish to warm completely. Serve with crusty bread. 
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Happiness is..., Main Plates, New York, Quick and Easy. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happiness is…(Cabbage and Sausage)

  1. Anonymous says:

    I loved this one, Taryn. Thanks for sharing your happy thoughts.

  2. Claudia says:

    I am going to play with this. I have leftover sausage… I have cabbage – it's serendipity! Love Charlie Brown – when It was off-Broadway – I memorized the show I saw it so much. (Tickets cost a lot less back in the day)

  3. This dish sounds delicious. I'm really craving comfort food dishes with sausage in this cold weather.

  4. I have just chopped some cabbage for dinner, it's only cabbage and carrot sitr-fry and some pork ribs with black bean sauce. When I think of happiness from cabbage, I could think of the poor boy, Charlie from the Chocolate Factory that their family are so poor and feed on thin cabbage soup but they're happily living together.

  5. Hello! I noticed we were commenting on some of the same blogs, so I thought I would come say hi ๐Ÿ™‚ Your eggs picture caught my eye. You'll see why if you come visit me! http://www.yummymummykitchen.com Happy to be your newest follower.

  6. Mary says:

    Oh, I love cabbage and sausage. You described it perfectly as well. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Nothing glamorous about it, but it is delicious every time.

  7. Just happily connected to your site and was thrilled to see that happiness is cabbage and sausage (that's the German in me talking). Always a great soul satisfying dish for me.cheers!

Leave a Reply

