The Idea That Won’t Go Away (Chocolate Meringues)

You know how sometimes you get ideas stuck in your head that won’t go away? Like, “oh yes, it’s a very smart idea to decide to make your own almond flour” or “why is that person wearing an elephant mask in public?” or “I should take up stand-up paddleboard yoga” or “the only thing I want to eat right now is feta cheese.”

Yeah, so I have one of those ideas right now. It could probably be summed as, “I am going through animal withdrawal, I’m a sucker for sad stories and this dog is adorable. I should adopt her.”

R~ wisely points out that I work, at a minimum, 11 hour days, that I travel regularly and will be in Houston for the entire month of December, that L~ already has a dog, who is small and anxiety prone and probably would not handle another dog AT ALL, that our apartment is minuscule, and that she is allergic to dogs. To which I reply….

…but!

To which she replies, “So?”

And she’s winning. As much as I would love to give this dog a home, now is probably not the right time for me to adopt a dog. (I mean, I’ve already saddled my parents with my horse and my cat. I should at least claim them back before I start adding to my personal menagerie.) But still – this story tugs at me. A disabled dog whose owner is moving to assisted living? I hope Rina finds a home soon, so that her owner knows she will be loved and he or she will have one less thing to worry about as he or she moves into a new and occasionally terrifying phase of life.

These cookies don’t have anything to do with Rina the dog, except for the fact that I took them into work today and one of my patients is a wonderful old man whose only complaint about the hospital is that it makes him lonely, and I can’t help but wonder if he had a dog at home, once upon a time.

Chocolate Meringues

These have been called chocolate clouds, poop cookies, brown yumminess and OMG cookies today by my classmates. In essence, they’re little chocolately pillows of crunch and stickiness and that’s about as poetic as I get right now.

I have made no adaptations to Bakerella’s version of these cookies, which is sans cocoa nibs, because I didn’t have them on hand, either. (The original recipe includes them.)

Chocolate Meringues


Adapted from Salty Tart via Home Baked Comfort via Bakerella

Allow 1 hour. Makes 4 dozen. 

1 cup egg whites (about 7 large)
2 cups sugar
5 tablespoons cocoa powder
1/2 cup finely chopped bittersweet or semisweet chocolate.

1) Start a pot of water boiling (the pot should be the right size to hold your heat proof bowl that you use in step 3.)
2) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line your baking sheets with parchment paper.
3) In a heatproof bowl, whisk together the egg whites and sugar and set over (but not touching), the simmering water.
4) Whisk constantly, just until the sugar is completely dissolved. (The egg whites won’t feel grainy between your fingers anymore.)
5) Remove from the water and beat on high speed until the egg whites and sugar are pearlescent and hold stiff peaks.
6) Carefully fold in the cocoa and the chopped chocolate.
7) Using a scoop or two tablespoons, scoops mounds of batter onto your baking sheets, about two inches apart.
8) Bake for 8 or 9 minutes, until cookies are puffed and look slightly dry and are cracked.
9) Transfer to wire racks to cool while still on parchment paper.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Idea That Won’t Go Away (Chocolate Meringues)

  1. The idea of chocolate meringue is really interesting, I'd like to try it on a pie, too.

  2. Bobbi says:

    Little Chocolate clouds- how did you know that is exactly what I am craving? Love your website!

Leave a Reply

