Observations (Edamame Salad)

Observations of the day:

  • Reason #1 I know I was up too early today: the breakfast carts had not yet set up on the street corners.
  • If your skirt covers your knees but has a slit up the back that allows me to see you are going commando, it is not considered SFW.
  • Chocolate cannot, unfortunately, fix everything.
  • These soba noodles are still good five days later. Success!
  • I have a bad habit of being sure I am out of staples while I am at the grocery store and buying more. Currently, I have four bottles of olive oil, three jars of molasses, two jugs of soy sauce and three boxes of cornmeal. My kitchen is not big enough for my absent-minded habits.
  • Reason #2 I know I was up too early today: when I came back to the apartment 4 hours after leaving it, my roommate was still not up for the day. And she wasn’t even sleeping in.
  • I have made this pudding four times in the past three weeks.
  • I am not invincible. Not sleeping enough does not turn me into superwoman, it turns me into cranky-girl.
  • Nothing will make your day better than playing with babies and their tiny little feet. (so tiny! it’s amazing!)
  • I have made this gingerbread twice this week. 
  • There are 72 stairs up to my apartment. 
  • It’s raining! It’s cooler! Fall might be coming!
  • I am four years old at heart. This is my favorite joke in the whole world. What’s brown and sticky? A stick! HAHAHAHAHA! (The whole reason for this entire post is so that I had an excuse to say that joke again.)
  • Recipes with two steps are still valid. And with that, I present this salad:

The textures in this play off of each other really well – crunchy edamame, soft tomatoes, chewy mozzarella and creamy avocado and the flavors combine the bright, summery-butter flavor the edamame with the acid and sweet of the tomatoes cut put the smoothness of the avocado. The vinaigrette brought it all together perfectly.

This salad is totally flexible. Use up whatever veggies you have in the fridge or that spur of the moment purchase with which you couldn’t figure out what to do. Make your favorite home-made vinaigrette or grab a bottle off your shelf from the dollar store. Stir it up and eat it immediately or let it marinate for a day before you serve it.

Edamame Salad

Allow 15 minutes. Serves 4.

1 cup steamed, shucked edamame
1 avocado
2 tomatoes
1/2 lb fresh mozzarella
3 tablespoons vinaigrette

1) Dice the tomatoes, avocado and mozzarella.
2) Combine everything.

You are reading this post on Have Kitchen, Will Feed at http://havekitchenwillfeed.blogspot.com. Excerpts, photos and links may be used with prior written authorization, provided that full and clear credit is given to the author and/or owner of Have Kitchen, Will Feed. All rights reserved by Taryn Clark.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

