A shameful confession. (Chocolate Pudding)

I have a confession to make. A friend came over to watch a movie the other night, and I got distracted and started puttering in the kitchen. At his confusion, I explained that I had a sudden craving for chocolate pudding, so I was making some. The fact that I made it from scratch, from cornstarch and milk, was apparently even more confusing. (PS. Have you ever done this with cornstarch and water? You should, if you haven’t.) 
We had some pudding that night, and then I put the rest of the six-serving batch away. Yesterday, I came home from work and thought to myself, “I have pudding in the fridge!” Lazy and not wanting to wash extra dishes, I grabbed a spoon and the dish of pudding and disappeared into my room to study. 
Honest, I don’t know what happened to the ENTIRE BATCH of pudding. Surely I had nothing to do with the fact that the bowl is scraped clean and currently dwelling upside down in my dish-drying rack. Somehow it managed to disappear in the course of fifteen minutes – not an afternoon, or even an hour. The fact that is was locked in a room with me and The Basics of Obstetrics and Gynecology couldn’t have anything to do with it. Right?
OK, so I ate the entire batch. In one sitting. In 15 minutes. 
And I don’t even feel guilty about it. A girl’s gotta eat her chocolate pudding sometimes, and that’s all there is to it. 

This is chocolate pudding that tastes like chocolate pudding should. There are no custard or mousse overtones, no hints that this has been ‘dressed up’ for adults, fancy sea salts or Mexican spices. Instead, it smells of cooked milk and basic chocolate and is creamy and smooth and disappears from your fridge so fast your roommate starts to look at you funny.

In this recipe, you can, of course, use any sweetness of chocolate you like. Keep in mind that the sweeter a chip gets (ie, milk chocolate), the more of the chocolate is made of milk solids, which will make the pudding slightly creamier. If you want to dress it up, throw in some butterscotch or mint chocolate chips or sprinkle some cumin on top.

Chocolate Pudding

Makes six servings. Allow 1 hour. 
1/3 cup cornstarch
1/2 cup sugar
3 cups milk
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips*
1. Combine the cornstarch and the sugar in a saucepan. Add a few tablespoons of milk and stir well to combine. Slowly add more milk, whisking or stirring as you add to keep lumps from forming.
2. Place over medium heat and cook for 15 minutes or until it begins to thicken. Stir in chocolate and continue to cook for several minutes, stirring until chocolate has melted and is completely stirred into the pudding.
3. Strain through a fine-mesh strainer into a bowl** and chill for thirty minutes, or until ready to serve.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A shameful confession. (Chocolate Pudding)

  1. Joanne says:

    You know, I think that pudding helped prep your brain to intake some of OB-GYN info. So really, you were just doing it to help you learn.

  2. I can easily imagine eating a whole pot of that! This looks wonderful.

  3. Looks so delicious and makes me want to create my own chocolate creation. I am a sucker for chocolate mousse!The Wanderfull Traveler

  4. Jackie says:

    I haven't ever tried to make pudding from scratch. I will certainly have to give this a try. My kids are sure to love it as much as I am as long as I fix it while they are home to keep me from eating all of it myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

