Kitchen Wishlist (Chicken with Zucchini, Feta and Lemon)

I have a kitchen wishlist – who doesn’t? Along with wishing for a house elf to do my dishes, a full sized oven that heats evenly and a fridge that restocks itself, I want these things. Greedy greedy me.

  • A stockpot with a lid. Have you tried boiling pasta in a lidless pot? Or simmering a stew for two hours?
  • A layer cake cutter. I use floss, and it works okay, but this is the coolest thing ever. 
  • An ice cream maker. Two weeks ago, it was 95 degrees in New York for days in a row. Self explanatory.
  • A cast iron skillet. Who can call themselves a cook without one? Apparently I am not a cook. 
  • A dutch oven. It would make my life so much simpler as I wouldn’t have to transfer boiling hot food from stovetop cookware to oven cookware and back again.  
  • Knives that cut. Any knives that cut. The end. 
A conversation with a friend about these desires went like this:
Me: I have a terrible craving for kitchen stuff. 
Me: I want a dome for my cake plate, an ice cream maker and I really want some sharp knives. 
Him: Please stay away from the sharp knives.
Me: Why?
Me: Sharp knives are safer than not sharp knives. 
Him: Not when you have them.
Me: What’s that supposed to mean?
Him: What’s what supposed to mean?
Him: Oh, that?
Him: Nothing. Nothing at all.
Me: Dork. 
Me: I want my knives. 
Me: And my ice cream maker. 
Me: I, um, might have just bought a cake dome. 
Him: We’ll get you help.
Him: Just hang in there.
Me: KNIVES. 
Me: I WANT KNIVES. 
Me: I have been using crappy knives for five years. 
Me: I am tired of squishing tomatoes and ripping chicken apart with my bare hands. 
Him: Use your teeth.
Me: Raw chicken. 
Me: I’m not into chicken sushi. 
Me: And I want a cast iron skillet. 
Me: And a dutch oven. 
Him: Needy needy needy…
Me: That’s me.
In the spirit of being needy, here’s a fantastic dish that takes only four kitchen utensils: a pan of any shape or size, a knife, a cutting board and pot holders. Even better – five ingredients: chicken, zucchini, feta cheese, lemons and olive oil. (Look. Truly only five ingredients. None of this “five ingredients, not counting salt, pepper, olive oil, foie gras, truffles….) The best of all? I have made this dish for other people at least six times. It’s that good. I crave it in my sleep.

You can really make this with any summer squash. Here, it’s made with zucchini, but I’ve made it with yellow crookneck, yellow and green zucchinis, and yellow and green summer squashes. Please do yourself a favor and use organic lemons and fresh feta. You’ll thank me. I promise.

Chicken with Zucchini, Feta and Lemon

Adapted from Real Simple.

Makes enough for 6. Allow at least 30 minute.

6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 lbs summer squash, any type
3 lemons
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 lb feta cheese, block

1) Preheat oven to 400. Drizzle 1/2 tablespoon of oil in a 13″x9″ pan.
2) Rub the chicken breasts with a tablespoon of the remaining oil and place in the pan.
3) Roughly chop the feta into smallish chunks – set aside about 1/4 cup.
4) Chop the zucchini into half moons. Juice the lemons and zest the remaining hulls.* Combine the juice and the remaining oil and whisk together. Toss the majority of the feta cheese, the zucchini, the lemon juice/oil and the lemon zest together.
5) Spread the zucchini mixture over the chicken breasts, heaping most of it at the side of the pan and where the chicken breasts are thinner. Sprinkle the remaining feta cheese over the exposed chicken breasts.
6) Bake the chicken until it’s cooked through, then allow to rest for 10 minutes.

*You can either use a grater to zest them, or you can use a sharp (or not sharp) knife to cut very thing slivers of lemon peel. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kitchen Wishlist (Chicken with Zucchini, Feta and Lemon)

  1. This looks great. From all the tools on your list the one that I think will give you the most bang for your buck is that cast iron skillet. I use mine NON STOP. Hope you get one real soon! 🙂

  2. Joanne says:

    Of your list, I absolutely NEED that cake cutter, a cast iron skillet, and good knives. My knives are sad and pathetic also. I'm probably going to cut off a finger someday because of them.Love how super easy this chicken recipe is! And yeah…fresh feta is kind of a must. Always.

Leave a Reply

