College Care Packages (Snickerdoodle Bars)

I have a habit of saying yes to people. “Will you iron my shirt?” “Will you come to dinner?” “Will you make me cookies?” “Will you make my brother cookies?” “Will you make the whole world cookies?”

Apparently, I said yes. I think I did make cookies for the whole world. It was the weekend before finals. What else was I going to do? I made 20 dozen cookies and mailed 13 packages.

Let me warn you – if you’re going to mail cookies, mail bar cookies. They don’t crumble as much, they’re easier to make and boys are happier, because they get more cookie per package square inch.

These are snickerdoodle bars. I had never considered snickerdoodle bars before, but suddenly, I was faced with at least 6 different cookie types and the idea of rolling several dozen snickerdoodles into balls, then in cinnamon sugar… it wasn’t going to happen.

That’s okay, because I think this is even better. The top caramelizes and ends up flaky and spice, the egg flavor of the cookie is fantastically strong and the chewiness? It can’t be beat. 

Crunchy crispy crackly sugary
spicey eggy flaky chewy .

Notes: I upped the spices in this recipe – I’m almost never satisfied with the spiciness of most cookie recipes, and I almost always double the spices. I also added some cloves and ginger to make these a little warmer. Finally, I dialed back the brown sugar in these, since I didn’t want the caramel undertones to overwhelm the egg and spice flavor inherent to snickerdoodles.


Snickerdoodle Bars
Adapted from One Ordinary Day

Makes 39 bars. Allow at least 40 minutes.

2 2/3 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1/4 teaspoon ginger, dried and ground
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1 cup sugar
1 cup butter, room temperature
2 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Topping:
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons cinammon
pinch cloves
pinch nutmeg

1) Preheat oven to 350. Lightly grease a 13″x  9″ pan.
2) Cream butter and brown sugar together until light and fluffy, 4 or 5 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, then vanilla and beat till smooth.
3) Combine dry ingredients in separate bowl, then stir dry ingredients into wet.
4) Combine topping ingredients in the now empty dry ingredients bowl.
5) Spread cookie dough evenly into pan with greased spatula*. Sprinkle with topping mixture and bake for 28-30 minutes, or until dough springs back lightly when touched.
6) Cool on rack, in pan, until room temperature. Cut into 1″ x 3″ bars.

* If you don’t want to use a spatula, wet your fingers in water and spread the dough by hand. Re-dampen your fingers whenever the dough starts to stick.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

