When I was in Mexico…. (Strawberry Lemonade)

The best stories all happen in Mexico. Drunk classmates, bar fights, being mugged, getting drugged, dancing with amazingly handsome men, friends running from drug lords, death threats, cousins expelled from the US, emigration escapades…unfortunately, stories that happen in Mexico, while they might be the best, often do not have happy endings. I’m not going to dwell on this today.

Instead, I’m going to dwell on the amazing food served in Mexico, food laced with citrus, making it fresh and alive and sparkling. How do I know this?  I know this, because I got to spend time in Guanajuato, Mexico, while I was in undergrad. I studied at this gorgeous Escuela de Idiomas:

Not only do the best stories happen there, it also has some of the most gorgeous views of beautiful little mining towns painted red and blue and yellow, nestled in little valleys between high mountain desert mountains, with bougainvillea everywhere you look.

Guanajuato
You know what’s nice about central Mexico? It’s always warm and sunny there. I got a sunburn on my first day there in January. You can sit outside and enjoy the rays just about any day. Because of that weather, the central Mexicans are world champs at making lemonade. Imagine three lemons, juiced and pulped, muddled with sugar and chipped ice, then topped with a glassful of ice cold soda water.

That would be Mexican Lemonade.

Drink and be transported to Guanajuato, minus the drugging, mugging and dancing.

Notes: Yes, I am seriously giving you a recipe for lemonade, because this lemonade changed my life.

The recipe below is for plain lemonade. The photo above has fresh strawberries muddled in. Add some mint or blueberries or make it with limes or grapefruit for a different flavor. 

Lemonade

Makes enough for 1. Allow at least 10 minutes.
3 large lemons
2 tablespoons sugar or to taste
Chipped ice
2 1/2 cups chilled soda water

1) Juice and pulp three lemons, pour into a large glass.*
2) Muddle in the sugar, then the ice.
3) Slowly top with the soda water. 
*You can do this by hand, or use a juicer. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When I was in Mexico…. (Strawberry Lemonade)

  1. Joanne says:

    Whenever sophie talks about living in Mexico, I am always SO jealous of all the food she got to eat! The mangoes, avocadoes…it all sounds amazing. This lemonade would make me super happy right now!

Leave a Reply

