Oh, college…. (Scones)

I was visiting my brother at college when I started this post, but then blogger went down and I started traveling, whaddayaknow, it’s a week and a half later. 

I’m visiting K at his college right now and (obviously) it’s the end of the year. Everywhere, girls are squealing and hugging each other and promising to send friendship bracelets in the mail over the summer or vowing that “I will see you again! I will! I promise!” Boys are forgetting to pack their things until two hours before they’re supposed to leave and everyone is grousing about studying for finals.

And I am taking cell phone pictures because the campus is gorgeous.

Studying for finals

I would go back to college here.

Beyond pretty. 

Now, I’m not in college anymore, but when I was, the girls of my dorm had a tea and scones night every week. (I know, does it get more English major-y?) I haven’t really made scones in the last two years, but suddenly, a bunch of girls were coming over and scones seemed the appropriate dish to make, especially with  Lemon Curd.

Scones
Adapted from Seasonal Celebrations Coast to Coast.

Makes enough for 8. Allow at least 40 minutes.

2 cups flour

2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons baking powder
3 tablespoons butter
1 cup plain, yogurt

1) Heat oven to 375.
2) Combine all dry ingredients.
3) Using a pastry blender, cut butter into dry ingredients.*
4) Using a fork, mix in yogurt, then knead on a floured surface until dough comes together.
5) Form dough into a round and place on baking sheet. Cut into eighths, like above photo.
6) Bake for 20 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool partially, and break into scones. 
*If you don’t have a pastry blender, use two knives in opposition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

