If you’ve never made something before…(Apricot Mousse)

How do you get a craving for it? Honestly. I’ve never had apricot mousse before, but we had a giant box of the sourest apricots ever sitting on our floor and suddenly, I had to make apricot mousse. I still don’t know why. 
 
Now, when I say “sourest apricots ever” I am not joking. These apricots were sour enough to take the finish off your hardwood floor. They were impossible to eat plain. They did not ripen into nice sweet apricots with a tart kick. They ripened into mushy, abominably sour apricots that stripped your throat of its coating. Even the chickens wouldn’t eat them. I made a pie and the only way to eat it was with enough sugar to make it look like it snowed. 

From HKWF
But I set out to make a mousse. The interwebs gave me a variety of highly complicated options, including gelatin molded mousses and compoted, liquor infused mousses and deconstructed mousses. I was too lazy for that, so I just made my regular chocolate mousse (recipe soon. It’s the best ever) and dumped apricot puree in it. And it was great. I ate it for breakfast. 
 
Notes: I did make this recipe up, so feel free to tweak as necessary. It was perfect for me. 
 
Apricot Mousse
 
Allow 20 minutes. Makes 6-8 servings. 
 
2 egg whites, large
1 cup heavy cream
1 pound apricots*
1/2 cup sugar or to taste + 1 tablespoon for egg whites
 
1)  Peel and pit the apricots.** Blend into a fine puree and add sugar to taste.
2) Beat the egg whites*** till soft peaks form, add 1 tablespoon of sugar, and beat till stiff peaks form. 
3) Beat the cream till stiff peaks form. 
3) Fold one third of the egg whites into the apricot puree, followed by one third of the cream. Continue, one third at a time, until all egg whites and cream have been added. 
4) Chill for 30 minutes to 4 hours. Will keep in fridge up to three days. 
*Alternatively, use dried apricots – about one cup. Soak in hot water till soft, then puree and skip to step 2. 
**Drop them in boiling water for 30 seconds, then into ice water. The skins should slip off. 
*** If you beat the egg whites first, you don’t have to wash the beaters before whipping the cream. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

