The little blue wrapped things never stood a chance. (Brown Butter Rice Krispy Treats)

I remember when I was a kid, I used to crave all sorts of food my parents disliked – little sausages, inappropriately colored candies, canned soups, frozen meals, packaged candies. When I finally got my own money, I happily bought these, plus jars of olives and bags of crisps and I still liked them. 
Somewhere along the way, however, I stopped liking them. Now I see them in the grocery store, and occasionally I’ll purchase them for nostalgia’s sake, remembering how much I used to love them. I take them home and stash them in my pantry and finally pull them out and try them and find out that they’re no good. They’re full of gross flavors and weird chemicals (and I have a degree in chemistry, so that means if I think they’re weird and can’t figure out what they are, they’re really weird.) and all around unfortunate. 
Chief among those childhood foods turned sad pantry relics are the little blue wrapped rice krispy treats. I remember them being salty and sweet and crunchy and sticky. When I tried them again, they were like sugar drenched styrofoam. Ew.   
                             
So with that, I went to find a recipe that would live up to my now adult tongue. Deb came to my rescue again with these amazing rice krispy treats. I made two batches in the same day, and yes, they were gone before the sun came up again. (Honestly, that could be because there are three teenage boys in the house, but don’t tell Deb that. Let her assume it’s because these are yummy.)
Notes: This recipe is perfect as made. I switched out Deb’s unsalted butter and sprinkle of salt for salted butter. 
Brown Butter Rice Krispy Treats

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen.
Allow 15 minutes to make, an hour to cool. Makes one 13″ x 9″ pan. 

12 tablespoons salted butter
10 ounces (1 package) marshmallows
6 cups rice krispys
1) Melt the butter in the bottom of a large saucepan. Over medium heat, brown the butter. It’ll foam a bit – watch it carefully so it doesn’t burn under the foam. As soon as it’s nut brown, add the marshmallows and stir until melted. 
2) While butter is melting, grease a 13″ x 9″ pan. 
3) Stir the rice krispys into the marshmallow mixture, then scrap into pan. Press* to smooth and allow to cool. 
*You can do this with damp hands or lightly greased hands. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

