What’s life without a little spice? (Roasted potato chunks)

Well, look at that, I’m out of the country again. More apologies for tech issues and slow responses, etc. I promise I’ll be back in the country and on the web in September!


I eat a lot of potatoes. It probably stems from the two years when I was gluten free. I don’t really like the idea of replacing one food with another designed to mimic it, like corn pasta or rice bread or quinoa bagels, so my entire diet radically changed during my GF years. Gone were sandwichs and bagels for lunch, cold cereal or pastries for breakfast or pasta or bread with dinner. Three nights out of five, my whole dinner was based off a potato. (The other two nights, it was based off rice.) Surprisingly, I didn’t tire myself out of potatoes. I still eat them nearly every chance I get, in nearly every form.

I also roast anything I can get my hands on. Asparagus, broccoli, onions, cauliflower, peppers, yams, peaches, apples, pears (although I’ve never tried strawberries.) I’m pretty much a minimalist when it comes to cooking (although not baking) and my food rarely has more than one or two seasonings on it.

With that, I present roast potatoes. Oh yum. I ate these all up and was sad I had to share with my family.
Notes: Again, this is a basic technique more than a recipe. I like it with this mixture of herbs and spices, but feel free to use whatever you like. I imagine it would be wonderful with rosemary and garlic, or paprika and white pepper or chili powder and lime. 
Oven Roasted Potatoes

Allow an hour. Serves six.

2 pounds small yellow and red potatoes
1 teaspoon powdered beef bouillon
1 teaspoon garlic salt
1 table spoon parsley flakes
1/3 cup olive oil
1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2) Cut potatoes into quarters or bite size chunks. 
3) Whisk beef bouillon, garlic salt and parsley flakes into olive oil. 
4) Toss olive oil sauce with potato quarters. Spread in roasting pan, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. 
5) Roast 50-60 minutes, or until potatoes are soft and beginning to brown around the edges. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

