This is perhaps my favorite cookie. (No Bake Cookies)

Well, look at that, I’m out of the country again. More apologies for tech issues and slow responses, etc. I promise I’ll be back in the country and on the web in September!

I was introduced to this cookie by one of my college roommates. She was on the Special K diet at the time, which meant our apartment was always full of Special K and she ate it all the time. I’ve never seen someone eat so much Special K and by week three, she was pretty tired of it. She ate it over yogurt and dry and in trail mix and with soy milk and almond milk and regular milk.

Then she came up with the brilliant idea of using Special K instead of oatmeal in her favorite cookie. I’m pretty sure that means she fell off the Special K diet, but….

This is probably my favorite cookie ever. It’s like the best candy/candy bar/cookie/amazing goodness ever. I’m really not much of a cookie person. (Or cake or pie or doughnuts or really, anything baked.)  I usually give away all the cookies I make as fast as possible. I’ve been known to dump them in people’s backpacks when they’re not looking. 
This cookie, on the other hand, I can eat by the dozen, and I do. It becomes breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as in between snacks and midnight munchies. 
Notes: Occasionally these don’t set well – if so, you didn’t cook the sugar mixture long enough.
No Bake Cookies

Adapted from my college roommate, but similar to these from Cooks.com
Allow 30 mintues prep and 2 to 24 hours to cool. Makes between 3 and 6 dozen cookies, depending on your drop size. 

1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup cocoa
1/2 cup milk
2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup peanut butter
4 cups Special K OR 3 cups gluten free rolled oats
1) Line baking sheets with foil or waxed paper. Combine all ingredients except cereal in a large saucepan. 
2) Bring to a boil over medium high heat, and, stirring well, allow to boil for 4-6 minutes.  
3) Take off the heat and stir in cereal. Drop by rounded teaspoon or tablespoon onto baking sheets. Allow to cool.*
* If necessary, put in the fridge to get to harden. 
This entry was posted in Cookies, Food Gifts, New York. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

