How the USPS must love me. (Oatmeal Raisin Cookies)

Well, look at that, I’m out of the country again. More apologies for tech issues and slow responses, etc. I promise I’ll be back in the country and on the web in September!

I have this thing about packages in the mail. I think they’re fantastic. Few things will brighten my day more than a package in the mail. (Fresh flowers will, though. I’m a sucker for fresh flowers. Also for singing and dancing anything.)

I figure if I like packages in the mail, other people must, too. Thus, I mail packages all the time. I sent out thirty boxes of cookies during my first semester of medical school. The slightest excuse was enough. You have a test on Saturday? I better mail you cookies. You got deployed? I better mail you cookies every month. You had a bad day? I better mail you cookies. You did well in competition? I better mail you cookies. I have your address? I better mail you cookies.

The thing about mailing cookies, though, is that they have to survive at least two days in a box (and 7-9 if you’re deployed overseas.) This limits cookie options. Usually, this means no filled cookies, few frosted cookies and very few soft cookies. All that said, I’ve mailed out fifteen or twenty different types. Fancy ones with multiple layers. Schmancy ones with homemade dulce de leche. Beautiful ones with hand cut shapes. And the thanks I get? Can you send the oatmeal ones again next time?
These are a classic oatmeal cookie, crunchy on the outside, chewy in the middle, and wonderfully studded with raisins. (If you don’t want raisins in your oatmeal cookie, don’t even talk to me. Raisins belong in an oatmeal cookie.) Best of all? These mail well. So well that I heard: “Wow. When we got these after 9 days, my entire squadron devoured them in an hour.”
Notes: I played around with this recipe some, adding raisins and adjusting the spices a bit. Next time, I’d up the spices even a little more. 
Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Adapted from Sweet Amandine.
Allow an hour and a half. Makes about five dozen cookies. 
1 cup butter, room temperature
1 1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3 cups rolled oats
1 1/2 cups raisins
1) Preheat over to 350. 
2) Beat butter and sugars until cream. Add eggs one at a time, then vanilla and beat till creamy. 
3) Mix flour, baking soda, and cinnamon into the butter mixture. Stir in oats, then raisins. 
4) Drop by rounded tablespoons onto baking sheets, about 3″ apart. 
5) Bake 10-12 minutes, or until edges are just lightly brown. Allow to set on sheets for five minutes, then transfer to cooling racks. The cookies will be quite soft when warm, but will firm up when cool. 
This entry was posted in Cookies, Food Gifts, Med Student Life, New York. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How the USPS must love me. (Oatmeal Raisin Cookies)

  1. Mollie says:

    I'm stealing this. I'm a sucker for oatmeal raisin cookies. And yes, I love the raisins. 😉

Leave a Reply

