I probably shouldn’t admit this… (Asparagus in Prosciutto Jackets)

Well, look at that, I’m out of the country again. More apologies for tech issues and slow responses, etc. I promise I’ll be back in the country and on the web in September!

…I have been known to eat two pounds of asparagus, by myself, in one sitting. I should probably explain myself.

When I moved to New York, I quickly found this tiny hole-in-the-wall store that sells specialty food and has hunks of cured meats piled on its counter in a unwieldy pyramid of porky heaven. The prosciutto that my friend behind the counter shaves off for me is unbelievably addictive and prone to putting large dents in my pocket book.

Then I walked by, and they were selling logs of soft goat cheese for an unbelievable price. My mind had an epiphany, which was really a remembrance of a dinner I attended long ago at a friend’s house, and I made it home a short time later carrying two pounds of asparagus, one of the goat cheese logs and hand wrapped prosciutto.

You see, at that friend’s house, I had been served a bundle of oven roasted asparagus, wrapped in goat-cheese spread prosciutto. It was amazing, and I recreated it as quickly as possible.

Then I ate it all. Myself. Yes, it is that good. I might have done this several times since then. In fact, a recent phone conversation with my sister ran something like:
K: What are you doing?
T: Roasting asparagus.
K: At one in the morning?
T: Yes.
K: How much?
T: Um. A pound and a half?
K: Please don’t tell me you’re going to eat that by yourself.
T: No comment.

Notes: None. Perfect as is.

Roasted Asparagus in Prosciutto Jackets

Adapted from Mrs. L

Allow 30-40 minutes. Serves 6 as a side dish.

2 pounds asparagus
1/4 pound prosciutto
4 ounces soft goat cheese
3 tablespoons olive oil

1) Preheat oven to 425. Line baking pan with foil, spread with a tablespoon of the oil.
2) Wash and trim the asparagus, making sure to remove the woody ends. Separate into twelve even bundles.
3) Select twelve pieces of prosciutto and spread with some of the goat cheese.
4) Place one bundle of asparagus perpendicular to the slice of prosciutto and roll up, fruit roll up style.
5) Place seam side down on oiled pan. Repeat with remaining asparagus bundles.
6) Once all bundles are on the pan, drizzle with remaining olive oil and salt to taste.
7)  Bake 20-45 minutes, depending on your preference. 20 minutes will yield just cooked asparagus, 45 minutes will yield soft asparagus with almost burned crunchy heads.

This entry was posted in Hors d'ouerve, New York, Sides, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

